Nutshell by Ian McEwan [Review]

*I received a copy of Nutshell from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Here goes.

nutshellIan McEwan is one of my favourite authors. Last year I made plans to read his entire back list, but bailed quickly because I didn’t want to run out of stories to read. Atonement is perfection, and last year I really enjoyed The Children Act, so I was thrilled to see another new release this year.

Nutshell tells the story of Trudy, who has left her husband for his brother, and now, from her marital home, is plotting to get everything she ever wanted. But someone is watching and listening to every detail of her plans – her unborn child, 9 months in the womb. The narration is astute and mannered, and McEwan commits wholeheartedly to the POV which I really appreciated.

The thing that struck me most about this book was the quality of the writing. McEwan never disappoints, but I noticed how good the writing was on every single page to the point of distraction. The novel is quite short, and every word packs such a punch and every metaphor really lands and makes you think. Because the narration is so unique, McEwan is really able to investigate the choices people make and the consequences of those decisions in a really profound and new way.

I am writing this review nearly a month after reading the book, and I’m trying to remember how it ends. Turns out, it doesn’t really matter. I do remember wanting to hear what happens next while reading the book, and turning the (digital) pages at quite a pace, but in hindsight what really stands out is the writing. Nutshell was incredible and proves that McEwan continues to write outstanding stories that speak to us.

 

Leave a Reply

